Telp: +62.361.937.6060

Visa on Arrival for Bali, Indonesia

A 30 days single entry visa is granted upon arrival to more than 60 nationalities incl. Australia, Germany, Switzerland, Japan, Korea, France, Spain, Holland and many more (see list at bottom of this page).

The cost is US$ 35. You can also pay in some other currencies (EUR or AUS$); you will get your change in IDR. There is usually no problem to obtain a visa on arrival (VoA). But your passport must be valid for at least another 6 months. On the plane you will receive an immigration card. Fill it in (see details below). You should have a return flight ticket (reservation printout), they rarely ever ask for it, but it could happen.
“Counting” the days

The VoA is NOT VALID FOR ONE MONTH. Only 30 days. The day of arrival counts as day one. If you stay longer you will have to pay a penalty of 200.000Rp per day. Up to 3 days is usually no problem; you will simply pay the fee at the immigration counter. Quite a few travelers end up paying the additional fee (penalty) because they wrongly assume, that the visa is valid for a month or because they do not know, that the first day of arrival already counts.


Facts on Visa on Arrival for Bali

  • Visa on Arrival (for most nation)
  • Valid 30 days, single entry
  • Day of arrival counts as day one
  • US$ 35 per person
  • Cue at the airport before immigration and pay the fee
  • Passport must be valid 6 months
  • Don’t lose immigration card
  • One 30-day extension possible without leaving Indonesia (at Immigration office), Visa agents can help


Visa Regulations

If you wish to stay longer than one month or have any other purpose than simply visiting, you need to apply for one of the visas below before arriving in Indonesia through the Indonesian Embassies and Consulates in your home country.

Beside Visa on Arrival you can apply for:

  • Calling Visa
  • Single Entry Visa (Business Visa, Socio-cultural Visa, Tourist Visa, Government (Diplomatic/Service Visa)
  • Multiple Entry Visa
  • Transit Visa
  • Temporary Stay Visa

These visas will not be issued in Indonesia!



If you arrived with a VoA and decide to stay longer than the allowed 30 days you can do the following:

  • Arrive with Visa on Arrival (VoA) and stay 30 days
  • Extend the VoA once with the help of a local Visa agent (ca. US$ 50) here on Bali. Stay another 30 days
  • Get a sponsor letter from the local Visa Agent (ca. US$ 20) and leave the country to Singapore after 60 days (flight ca. US$100),
  • Another agent in Singapore applies for a social visa (sponsor letter needed) for you (ca. US$ 150)
  • 1 day Express service possible
  • Return the next day to Indonesia
  • Ready to stay another 60 days – Total 120 days.


Following foreign nationals do NOT NEED a Visa.

According to Directorate General of Immigration Indonesia:

Citizens from following countries are permitted to enter visa-free for short visits of up to 30 days, granted at any immigration checkpoint.

Brunei, Darussalam | Chile  | Ecuador  | Hong Kong SAR  | Macao SAR  | Malaysia  | Morocco  | Peru  | Philippines  | Singapore  | Thailand  | Vietnam

All other foreign nationals are required to possess a visa. Visas are issued to those persons who are visiting Indonesia on government work, on business, for social-cultural activities and for holidays.


Following nationalities are eligible for a Visa on Arrival

According to officials the 64 countries and 1 region currently are:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Algeria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cyprus
  • China
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Egypt
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Iceland
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan PRC
  • Timor Leste
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • UK, United Kingdom (British)
  • USA, United States of America
Translate »